Nathan Deal, governor of Georgia, signed a law Wednesday that will establish car insurance requirements for commercial ride-sharing services like Uber, Lyft and Taxis. What does the law require? It requires that transportation network companies must maintain an insurance policy minimum of $1 million for death, property and personal injury coverage.
Logan McFaddin, the Southeast regional manager PCI, said that this insurance bill brings consistency and clarity to the ride-share insurance laws. Many irate taxi cab drivers have celebrated over the latest laws, regarding ride-sharing companies.
Otis Sales, a part-time cab driver for more than 40 years, noticed a drastic 40 percent decline in business because of apps such as Uber. Sales says that he'd like to see Uber drivers held to the same regulations and standards of taxi drivers because taxis are having difficulty competing. Cab drivers must undergo background checks and have their taxi inspected twice per year. However, ride-sharing companies have not been held to the same laws, which gives them an unfair advantage because they can charge less.
With the ride-sharing companies, anyone can get a car, and that makes ride-sharing a little more dangerous. Uber, however, has stated that customer safety takes top priority, and drivers for Uber undergo a rigorous criminal background check. Despite protest from the Georgia Bureau of Investigations, drivers will not need fingerprinting to ensure they are who they say they are.
What do the specific auto insurance laws now require of Uber drivers? In addition to the $1 million in insurance coverage, the new law mandates $300,000 in coverage for bodily injury and death, and service drivers must carry $50,000 for property damage. Rich Golick, Georgia's state representative, says the requirements for auto insurance and criminal background checks relate to passenger safety, rather than regulation.
Call Pachuta Insurance Today @ 706-769-2262
Welcome to our blog! We hope you enjoy it.